Latest News

State Government announces Committee to pursue ST status for 12 left out communities

The State Government, in a notification announced a Committee constituted to pursue the Scheduled Tribe (ST) status of the 12 left-out communities of Sikkimese origin.

The Committee comprised of TN Dhakal, Political Advisor to HCM as the ‘Chairman’
Rohit Gurung, Pabitra Bhandari, Dr. S. K. Rai, K. N. Sharma, Raju Basnet, Laxuman Gurung, Dr. Pramila Giri, Dambar Bahadur Mukhia, Bishnu Kr. Rana, Purna Bahadur Thami, Ramesh Jogi, Pranoy Kishor Dewan, Ram Bahadur Maji, Bishnulall Bhujel as ‘Members’ and Nirmal Kumar Pradhan as the ‘Member Secretary’.

Earlier this year in February, a Core expert committee was formed to work for 12 left-out communities in Sikkim, following were its members:

Tek Nath Dhakal – Chairman , Advisor to HCM
Pabitra Bhandari – Chairperson, SCBC/OBC Commission
Kush Narayan Sharma – Akhil Sikkim (Bahun-Chettri) Kalyan Sangh
Raju Basnett – Akhil Sikkim (Bahun-Chettri) Kalyan Sangh
Kalyan Sangh Laxuman Gurung – All Sikkim Gurung(Tamu) Budhist Association
Bishnu Lall Bhujel – Akhil Sikkim Bhujel Sangh
Bishnu Kumar Rana – All Sikkim Manger Association
Dilu Kumar Pradhan – Sikkim Newar Guthi
C. P. Dewan – Akhil Kirat Dewan (Yakha) Sangh
Dr. Shiva Kumar Rai – Akhil Kirat Rai Sangh
Purna Bahadur Thami – Akhil Sikkim Thami Sangh
Damber Bahadur Mukhia – Sikkim Sunuwar(Mukhia) Koinchbu Association
Dr. Pramila Giri – Sikkim Giri-Sanyashi Association
Ramesh Jogi – All Sikkim Gorakhnath Jogi Welfare Association
Ram Bahadur Majhi – All Sikkim Majhi Association

The number of communities seeking ST status in Sikkim includes Gurung, Mangar, Rai, Sunwar, Mukhia, Jogi, Thami, Yakha, Bahun, Chettri, Newar, and Majhis, who were recently added to the list.

When the Majhis demanded the inclusion, Chief Minister, PS Tamang supported their plea said that his government would do everything to ensure that all the 12 communities get their tribal status. “The inclusion of the left out communities is one promise in our manifesto and will leave no stone unturned to deliver it… we will work transparently and not make empty promises,” Tamang told The Telegraph a year ago.

Tamang had submitted a memorandum to Union Home Minister Amit Shah demanding Scheduled Tribe (ST) status for the 12 left out indigenous communities of the state and reservation of seats in Sikkim Legislative Assembly for Limboo and Tamang communities.

SC Desk

Sikkim Chronicle is a unit of Yonika Infotainment Pvt. Limited. Sikkim’s first registered digital news platform which believes to provide right, reliable and credible news and information to the people of Sikkim and around. We have endeavored to appropriately credit the source of all intellectual property we share through this community.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button