Latest News

Sikkim Education department bags three national awards for innovations and good practices in educational administration (2018-19 &2019-20)

New Delhi, February 11, 2022: Education Department, Government of Sikkim has bagged three national awards from the National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA) for innovations and good practices in the educational administration and planning. NIEPA, New Delhi, is an autonomous body in the field of educational planning and administration. It has been playing a significant role in training educational planners and administrators.
NIEPA had launched a scheme of National Awards for Innovation and Good Practices in Educational Administration in 2014 for the District Education Officers and Block Level Officers with the objective of recognising the contributions of the field level educational administration in improving the functioning of public system of education and ensuring efficient delivery of educational services. The selection of awardees is done through panel of jury members consisting of top-level officers, administrators and academicians.

The virtual function of National Awards for Innovation and Good Practices in Educational Administration for the year 2018-19 and 2019- 20 was held on 10th February, 2022. The Hon’ble Union Minister of State for Education, Government of India, Dr. Subhas Sarkar, graced the occasion and presented the award to the selected officers virtually.For the year 2018-19, 36 officers received the National Awards and 7 officers received Certificates of Appreciation.

Whereas, for the year 2019-20, 55 officers received the National Award and 12 officers received Certificate of Appreciation. Among the 55 National Awardees for the year 2019-20, three awardees are from Sikkim and they are:

  1. Mr Amber Dass Chhetri, Joint Director, State Project Office, Samagra Shiksha.
  2. Mr Padam Lal Subba, Joint Director, Gyalshing District, West Sikkim.
  3. Mr. Sundar Kumar Rai, Assistant Education Officer, Duga BAC, Pakyong District, East Sikkim.

The awardees extend thanks and gratefulness to the Hon’ble Chief Minister and Hon’ble Minister of Education, Government of Sikkim for giving opportunity to work at District and Block Level Administration. Further, the awardees are also thankful to the Additional Chief Secretary, Shri G.P Upadhyaya, the Secretary, Shri Anil Raj Rai, the State Project Director, Samagra Shiksha, Shri Bhim Thatal and Director, Secondary Education, Mrs. Hondala Gyaltsen and all officials of the Education Department for nomination of their names for this award and providing constant support, guidance and motivation throughout the selection process. This award has inspired and motivated them to work with more enthusiasm and dedication in the coming days.
Additional Chief Secretary Sri GP Upadhyaya, Secretary Sri Anil Raj Rai and State Project Director Samagra Shiksha Sri Bhim Thatal have congratulated these awardee officers for their inspiring and innovative achievements.

(Press Release from Education Department, Government of Sikkim)

SC Desk

Sikkim Chronicle is a unit of Yonika Infotainment Pvt. Limited. Sikkim’s first registered digital news platform which believes to provide right, reliable and credible news and information to the people of Sikkim and around. We have endeavored to appropriately credit the source of all intellectual property we share through this community.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button