Pakyong and Soreng to be the newest districts of Sikkim: Three Amendment Bills passed by the SLA

Sikkim Legislative Assembly passed the bill for Re-organisation of Districts bill today; the bill was presented in the house by Minister Land Revenue Kunga Nima Lepcha on the second day of Fifth Edition of the Tenth Sikkim Legislative Assembly.

Henceforth with the passing of the bill now Sikkim will have two new districts namely Pakyong and Soreng District, the Pakyong district was carved out of East District Similarly Soreng out of West District, with the passing of the Re-organisation of Districts bill Sikkim will now have six districts in total

Along with the Re-organisation of Districts bill, the seating also passed Sikkim State University
(Amendment) Bill 2021 by passing of the bill Sikkim will have its own State University Campus at Temi Tarku South Sikkim

Also, Sikkim Skill University Bill 2021 was passed by the house, as proposed the Sikkim Skill University will be set up at Namthang Rataypani, South Sikkim

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button