SC StoriesSociety

Soreng officially a new district; MLA Aditya Golay aspires to make it a model district

Sikkim government formally declares six districts through a gazette notification coming into force from December 21. The two new districts are Soreng (formerly part of West Sikkim) and Pakyong (formerly part of East Sikkim.

The four existing districts have also undergone nomenclature change with North Sikkim becoming Mangan, West Sikkim becoming Gyalshing district, East Sikkim becoming Gangtok district and South Sikkim becoming Namchi district.

Speaking with Sikkim Chronicle Aditya Golay, MLA Soreng Chakung Constituency expressed his gratitude towards his legislative colleagues in which he stated that, ” I am very greatful to the state government for making this possible, with coming of Soreng and Pakyong as newest district it will be lot more easier for the population under the region to commute, prior to this people far away from the district headquarters had to travel to Gangtok and Gyalsing for any work but now the distance has been shortened by a lot”

“I want to make Soreng district as model district, we have learned so much in pandamic and the best chapter the pandemic has taught us is digitalization, many of the times we relied on digital documents which infact has been the positive side of the pandemic and in regard to which I would also sketch my roadmap towards making Soreng district as E-district” Golay added

In addition MLA Golay also stated that by April of 2022 both Soreng and Pakyong will full-fledgedly be districts of the state.

The two new districts were formed as part of the Sikkim Reorganization of Districts Act 2021 passed by the Sikkim Legislative Assembly on December 9 having received the assent of the Governor. The Act was passed, “to strengthen the governance and administration in view of the growing population that has increased manifold over the years posing new challenges for smooth functioning of the administration, specially the public services sectors such as emergency responses, disaster management, law and order, doorstep government and the like”, mentions the State government notification.

In terms of Reorganization;

Pakyong district
The new Pakyong district will include three subdivisions Pakyong, Rongli and Rangpo. Pakyong is the biggest subdivision with 6 revenue circles Pakyong, Dikling-Pacheykhani, Aho-Senti, Tareythang-Bering, Machong and Amba-Taza. Rongli subdivision will include three revenue circles Rongli, Subaneydara and Rhenock. Rangpo subdivision includes two revenue circles Duga and West Pandam.
The boundaries of Pakyong district are Reserve Forest Bhutan boundary in East, Teesta River and Rani Khola in West, Tak Chen Chu River in North and Reshi Khola and Rangpo Khola in South.

Soreng district
The newly formed Soreng district carved out of the previous West Sikkim, will have two subdivisions Mangalbarey and Soreng. Mangalbarey will have four revenue circles Rinchenpong, Kaluk, Mangalbaria, and Kamling.
Soreng sub-division includes seven revenue circles Arubotey, Chakung, Zoom, Soreng, Okhrey, Dodak and Sombaria.
The boundaries of Soreng district will include Rangit River and Chubbatti Kholsa in East, Rammam River and Indo Nepal border in West, Rangsang Kholsa and Rhododendron Sanctuary in North and Rammam River in South.
Gangtok district
Gangtok district has been divided into two subdivisions -Gangtok and Rabdang. Gangtok is divided into 9 revenue circles, Gangtok station, Sichey (Old GMC), Chandmari (Old GMC), Sichey Circle, Lingdok circle, Ranka circle, Rumtek circle, Samdong circle, and Naitam circle.
Rabdang circle includes 3 revenue circle Rabdang, Khamdong and Tumin circles. The boundaries of Gangtok district are Reserve Forest Assam/ Tak Chen Chu River in the East, River Teesta in the West, Bagey Khola in North, and Rani Khola in South.

Gyalshing District
Gyalshing which previously served as the district capital for West Sikkim has now been named after the district. It will have three subdivisions Gyalshing, Dentam, and Yuksom subdivisions.
Gyalshing subdivision will have three revenue circles Darap, Lingchom, and Gyalshing. Dentam subdivision will have four revenue circles Radhu-Khandu, Dentam, Bermoik, and Gyaten. Yuksom subdivision will have Gerathang, Tashiding, Dhupidara and Thingling revenue circles.
The boundaries of Gyalshing district are Rangit Khola and Rongdong Chhu (South district boundary) in East, International boundary of India and Nepal in the West, Rukel Chhu (North district boundary) in North and Rangsang Khola, Rhododendron Sanctuary (Soreng District Boundary) in South.

Mangan district
Mangan district has been divided into four subdivisions Mangan, Kabi, Dzongu and Chungthang. Mangan subdivision includes Singhik-Mangan revenue circle, Kabi subdivision includes Phensong and Namok, Dzongu subdivision includes Passingdong, Hee-Gyathang and Gor revenue circles. Chungthang subdivision includes Chungthang revenue circle but extends towards Lachung and Lachen as well.
The boundaries of thr district extends till International boundary of Tibet (China) in North, East and West. With the western border of Mangan even touching Nepal. In the South, the borders of the Mangan district end at North of the line of Dikchu Chhu, Ratey Chhu, Rongyung Chhu and Rukel Chhu.
Namchi district
Namchi district will have four subdivision Namchi, Jorethang, Ravangla and Yangang. Namchi subdivision has 12 revenue circles, Jorethang and Ravangla has four circles each while Yangang has three revenue circles.
The boundaries of Namchi district are River Teesta in East, River Rangeet in West, Rambang Khola in North and Ranglu Khola in South.

Soreng has been declared as new district with this the population which previously had to travel till Gyalsing will now not face difficulties.

This is also a great achievement to people of Soreng and other near by localities as well. Before the notification came out, we went into management and re-arranged everything that was needed. It will be a historic moment for the Sikkim because earlier we had only four districts and now in total we have six districts in where we shall be getting new district Collectors as well as S.P officers. As we have formed new districts, we have lot of opportunities that is coming in front of us and hence we will also be working on different managements such as traffic management, water management et cetera, we shall find solutions to every ongoing problems.

We have also started using electronic gadgets and I think our people are also ready to go digital and know the importance of gadgets. I hope in coming days we can make Soreng a E- district . Chief Minister and as well as us including all the MLA’s and Ministers will work mainly focusing on the shortages that people are facing daily. Therefore, this April, 2022, we will be having district collector and SP in both the districts and after that in a full-fledged way we will run the districts.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button