Latest News

Sikkim and 4 other states to get funds for floods/landslides/hailstorm occurred during 2021

High Level Committee under the Chairmanship of Union Home Minister, Amit Shah has approved Rs. 1,887.23 crore additional Central assistance to five States

The High Level Committee (HLC) under the Chairmanship of the Union Home Minister, Amit Shah, has approved additional Central assistance under the National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF) to five States (Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Sikkim and West Bengal) which were affected by floods/landslides/hailstorm during 2021. This shows the resolve of the Union Government under the leadership of Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi to help the people of the five states who faced these natural disasters.

The HLC approved additional central assistance of Rs. 1,887.23 crore to five States from NDRF:

Rs. 1,038.96 crore to Bihar; Rs 21.37 crore to Himachal Pradesh; Rs. 292.51 crore to Rajasthan; Rs. 59.35 crore to Sikkim; and Rs. 475.04 crore to West Bengal.
This additional assistance is over and above the funds released by the Centre to the States in the State Disaster Response Fund (SDRF), already placed at the disposal of the States. During financial year 2021-22, the Central Government has released Rs. 17,747.20 crore to 28 States in their SDRF and Rs. 6,197.98 crore to nine States from the NDRF.

The Central Government had deputed Inter-Ministerial Central Teams (IMCTs) to these States and Union Territories, immediately after the calamities without waiting for the receipt of Memorandum from them.

Via Press Bureau of India

SC Desk

Sikkim Chronicle is a unit of Yonika Infotainment Pvt. Limited. Sikkim’s first registered digital news platform which believes to provide right, reliable and credible news and information to the people of Sikkim and around. We have endeavored to appropriately credit the source of all intellectual property we share through this community.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button