Sikkim votes for 17th Lok Sabha and 10th Assembly today


Gangtok, April 11: A voting for the tenth Assembly and seventeenth Lok Sabha in Sikkim will be held today all across state. 

There are 432306 voters out of which 212001 are female and 220305 Male.

The sitting chief Minister Pawan Chamling who is also contesting from two seats- Poklok Kamrang and Namchi Singithang in South Sikkim will cast his vote in Namchi.

There are 150 candidates contesting for the Assembly seats while there are eleven for the lone Lok Sabha.

SKM President PS Golay will cast his vote in Singling in West Sikkim while the debutant in Sikkim politics, Bhaichung Bhutia of Hamro Sikkim party will cast his vote reportedly at Bojoghari in East Sikkim.

Around 3500 government employees has been deployed in different polling stations all across Sikkim. 

There are 120 polling stations identified by Election Commission. The security has been beefed up more in these stations.

2042 people with disabilities will cast their votes, the Commission has provided a special facilities for the PWDs.

The voting will start from 7am to 5pm.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here