Four Sikkimese students selected for prestigious learning programme at ISRO


On 10th October, 2019 Minister for Human and Resource Department Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ will launch Pradhan Mantri Innovative Learning Programme ‘DHRUV’ from the ISRO headquarter situated in Bengaluru. Attending the event as Guests of Honour are Dr K Sivan, Chairman, ISRO, Wing Cdr. Rakesh Sharma, AC (Retd.), Research Cosmonaut, Professor K Vijay Raghavan, Principal Scientific Advisor who will interact, motivate and share their experiences with the selected students.

Among the 60 students, four of the brilliant pupils are from Sikkim – Methela Rai, Suraj Kumar and Deepam Pradhan from Namchi Govt. Senior Secondary School and Aditya Subba from Singtam Govt. Senior Secondary School. These students have not only brought pride to their schools, but to the state as a whole.

Even more remarkable is that Methela Rai, the only girl selected from Sikkim, will speak to the media along with four other children and is also one of the 3 students who will have the honour of interacting with K Sivam, Chairman of ISRO. The selection was based on their school’s performance in the ATL national level competition and through leading innovations.

The programme is divided into two major areas – Science and Performing Arts, with 30 students in each. These 60 students from classes 9-12 will have come from all parts of the country and from both government and private schools.

The PMILP runs for 14 days, from 10th – 24th October, 2019 where the selected students will participate in various activities at IIT, Delhi and National Bal Bhawan.

Daytime activities will be planned for both groups separately, including activities for smaller sub-groups and even individual students. Tours to important institutes, heritage sites etc. will be included.
Evening activities will be combined activities for both groups so that the Science students can participate in cultural activities and vice-versa.

Interaction with renowed mentors, both in Delhi and abroad through video conference is going to be another highlight for the students. Additionally, mentors who have excelled in innovation in non-science and non-performing arts fields will also interact with the students.

Every student is to be called “Dhruv Tara”, after the name of the programme (Dhruv, meaning North Star). It is with the hope that these students would become a guiding light for others in the future.

The students for the Science group were selected by an Advisory Committee headed by the Principal Scientific Advisor (PSA) in consultation with the Department of Science and Technology, Atal Innovation Mission, NITI Aayog and NCERT.

Similarly, students of Performing Arts group was selected by an Advisory Committee headed by the Principal Scientific Advisor (PSA) in consultation with NCERT, CCRT and Sangeet Natak Akademi of Ministry of Culture. All these students are prize winners in competitions.

Leave a Reply