BJP announces formal alliance with ruling party SKM

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha has formed an alliance with the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), via a press release issued by BJP on Friday

BJP announces formal alliance with ruling party SKM

Gangtok, September 19: As per a BJP press release issued on Friday, "For the first time in the history of Sikkim, people are witnessing an alliance of ruling party of the state with the ruling party of the center with a commitment of cooperation and to advance the development of the state in the coming days."

On August 14, the State Government had appointed more than 60 chairpersons and advisors to the various departments of the State Government, which had included seven MLAs from the BJP, Sikkim, the President of Sikkim’s BJP unit, D.B. Chauhan was among the seven.

The BJP press release recanted that this alliance was coming from a long time, as the two parties had tried to form an alliance before the 2019 Assembly Elections and could only materialize during the by-elections in October 2019. The President of Sikkim’s BJP unit, D.B. Chauhan has said that the alliance reached a turning point in which the Chief Minister P.S. Golay has shown his political tolerance and ideological maturity by including the BJP, Sikkim in the State’s governance.

Chauhan also expressed BJP, Sikkim’s commitment to ‘adhere the duty of alliance for the betterment of Sikkim and it’s people.' Chauhan also expressed his gratitude to the ruling party for this ‘historic initiative.’
After the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) Party’s 10 MLAs joined BJP, Sikkim on August 13, 2019, and just a day later on August 14, 2019, two more SDF legislators switched over to the SKM Party, SDF leader, and former Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling was the only MLA from SDF, but with Friday’s announcement of the alliance between BJP, Sikkim ad the SKM Party, Chamling has now been left as the only member of the opposition in the 32-member Sikkim Legislative Assembly.

Just a day after the announcement of the alliance, three Cabinet Ministers - LN Sharma, Karma Loday Bhutia, and MN Sherpa including two BJP MLAs - Farwanti Tamang and TT Bhutia have tested positive for COVID-19, while Chief Minister P.S. Golay has tested negative.

Read more related news:

Bharat announces resignation from Congress Party; addresses...

NEP 2020: For Sikkim, a chance for good change 

Government Vocational College demands for permanent campus...